top of page

Just the start: Redefining "success" for theatre alumni

Broadway: a mystical place comprised of bright lights, limitless talent, and Equity contracts. It is, for our society, the destination alumni from the theatre and music theatre department must reach to claimed “successful.” However, this just isn’t the case. There are many ways in which success can be achieved by our limitlessly talented Viterbo alumni. To prove this, here is a compilation of the first chapters to the success stories of this year’s graduating class of theatre majors.

Alexandra Bell, technical theatre major, says her goal is to “own/run a privately-owned costume shop.” Bell will begin this journey, “right after I graduate from Viterbo; I am going to Des Moines Metro Opera where I will be a stitcher and wardrobe run crew member for their summer festival. I hope to continue learning about my craft by going on to grad school in the Fall of 2021 for my MFA in costume technology.”

Katrina Walt, music theatre major and dance minor, has goals set in both performing and choreographing. She said she “will be continuing [her] work as a choreographer and clinician with competitive middle and high school show choirs across the country.” Walt expressed the importance of choreography when she stated, “The ability to teach my craft to students and colleagues through choreography opportunities has played an influential role on my journey as an artist.”

Tabbi Parent, music theatre major, also seeks success without requiring her name on a playbill. Starting with her position as a dance instructor she wants to “open up a studio of [her] own someday.” By hosting classes for singing, acting, and dancing, Parent stated, “I just want to be with kids my whole day and point them in a good direction for the future. I think I learned some wonderful tools here at Viterbo, and I want to pass my knowledge of this industry to the next generation.”

Melissa Wickland, music theatre major, “can’t wait to start [her] journey after graduating from Viterbo!” Though not certain where exactly she’ll start, Wickland set her first goals in performing aboard cruise-lines. Among her many plans this one stands out because “This is something I’d love to do straight out of graduation because it pays well, I’d get to travel the world, and perform every day.”

Finally, Jaki Jahr, fall 2019 graduate of the music theatre program, shares with us her first chapter, as well as her wisdom, on life after graduation: “It’s important to take things one day at a time,” stated Jahr. “I just started donating my time to help teach theatre classes at my hometown high school.”

Jahr concluded beautifully by saying, “Once one accepts the nature of this field, it’s not as scary. Of course, I get anxious thinking about the vast future, but with open space comes opportunities that haven’t been thought of before. I’m filled with anticipation of what my future holds and know that nothing can hold me back.”

bottom of page